Blessings From Loved Ones: Reconnecting with my grandmother through her journal

Diana Raab
3 min readOct 15, 2022
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Over the course of our life time we might receive meaningful mementos from loved ones that can change our lives. Now that I am in my late sixties, and have lost many loved ones, I’ve been blessed with some meaningful momentos. For me the two most meaningful momentos were from my maternal grandmother, who blessed me with four needlepoint chairs she made when she was in her forties, and also receiving her retrospective journal depicting her life as an orphan in Poland during World War I. Her parents died of cholera when she was eleven years old, about the same age I was when she took her life with an overdose of sleeping pills in my childhood home. She then moved to Vienna and married my grandfather before immigrating to the United States, seven years after my mother was born.

After my grandmother died, my parents continued to live in my childhood home for thirty more years. When it came time to pack up and move, they stumbled across my grandmother’s journal. She wrote about the challenges of growing up without parents and having to go to school, work and take care of her own domestic responsibilities. In view of my close relationship with my grandma, my mother gifted me with the journal. Only after reading it did I fully understand the deep roots of her depression, which tormented her during her entire life…

--

--

Diana Raab

Award-winning author/poet/blogger. Speaks and writes on writing for healing & transformation. Visit: dianaraab.com